book · book review

Book Review: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

BR #1.pngGeneral Book Information
The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder
Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Edition & Pages: Paperback & 256
Source: Bought
Rating: 5/5

SYNOPSIS:

“Welcome to The Museum of Heartbreak.
Penelope is sixteen and has never been in love. So when handsome, charming Keats sweeps her off her feet, she can’t believe her luck.
But then comes the gut-wrenching, soul-destroying realization that happy endings don’t always last forever. Suffering from a broken heart, Penelope creates the Museum of Heartbreak, a collection of objects documenting the elation and devastation of first love, friendship and growing up.”


Review

When I first picked it up, it was honestly only because I could tell from the cover it was set in New York and who doesn’t love a romance set in NYC?

Although it took me a while to read (I blame the fact that I was just emerging from a reading slump), but I think the fact I didn’t rush through it allowed me to be able to relate to the characters and take in all the emotions.

The writing style in this book flows perfectly for the whole setting and story line of this book. The plot is very heart-wrenching, yet heart-warming and it is the perfect book to get you in the mood for autumn and cooler weather! The plot was really interesting in the way where there was always something going on which added to the excitement and adventure of the book and I think the fact it was set in a city contributed to this perfectly.

My favourite character would have to be Eph (Ephraim O’Connor/One of Penelope’s best friends) because he is just the cutest little thing ever and I would love to meet him! He is really in to dinosaurs and his dad and Penelope’s dad work together at The Museum of Natural History which is how they met, so the museum plays such an important role in the book and in Eph’s character.

Towards the end of the book things got very emotional and I’m not going to lie, I did cry but I feel like that’s what made me love the book even more than I already did. If you were thinking of buying this book, I would highly suggest that you do and let me know what you think of it!


Thank you very much for reading and I hope to see you all very soon – Emily

One thought on “Book Review: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

Leave a Reply

